Cricket Pasta

The food of the future (which, as we all know, is insects) is now available as a pasta. Actually, it's been available for a few years. French pasta-maker Atelier a Pates added cricket pasta to their product line-up a few years ago, but is now reporting that it's become so popular they're having trouble keeping it in stock.

Their recipe: "Whole eggs are added to a mixture of seven percent insect flour to 93 percent organic spelt wheat flour, producing a brownish pasta that is shaped into radiatori, fusilli, spaghetti and penne."

They note that the cricket pasta has a lot of protein in it, so it can replace meat for vegetarians. But can you actually call yourself a vegetarian if you're eating insects? What are the official rules about that?

via CTV News

     Posted By: Alex - Mon Feb 29, 2016
     Category: Food | Insects and Spiders

I don't know about vegetarians, but I do know that insects are almost universally not kosher. There is a particular sort of locust that is kosher (as in locusts and honey in the OT), so maybe they could adjust the ingredients for kosher customers.
Posted by TheCannyScot in Atlanta, GA on 02/29/16 at 01:24 PM
I am about as far from ECO-Friendly as they come. I will stick with my beef, pork, poultry, and occasionally fish.
Posted by BrokeDad in Midwest US on 02/29/16 at 02:16 PM
7% bug parts is withing the legal FDA limit for foods anyhow, isn't it?

What about long-port, BD, you know, the OTHER white meat.
Posted by Expat47 in Athens, Greece on 03/01/16 at 01:12 AM
"long pork' EWWWW!
So they found a way to use their buggy flour. Personally, I'd just throw it away. :sick:
Posted by Patty in Ohio, USA on 03/05/16 at 12:25 AM
Commenting is not available in this channel entry.